Batman · Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures #2

385894_20161214184523_large

When Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures was first announced, I wasn’t even really interested. It seemed to me like it was targeted more at kids than the original Batman/Teenage Mutant Nina Turtles series was. But then I ended up picking up the first  issue at Comic Con because I met Steve Lavigne who had done a variant cover for that day. He kind of sold me on the concept of the new series by suggesting it was a bit of a spiritual successor to Batman: The Animated Series which I’ve been watching and loving lately.

The first issue was “just alright” in my opinion. But I think now I can look back and see why – it didn’t actually combine the two properties fully. Nope… that happens in issue #2. And to be honest I took a chance on this issue solely because Harley was on the cover and I was curious how this would turn out.

I’m happy to report that issue #2 is a step up from the first. You’ve got Joker and Harley; Shredder and Rocksteady and Bebop; and finally you’ve got the meeting of Batman, Robin and Batgirl with the Turtles and April. It is one big mix of great characters and more importantly, it is a lot of fun. I went from a bit of indifference to actively enjoying this series. I’m not totally hooked, but I am now indeed interested to see how this series progresses on top of the ongoing TMNT main book and the recent and awesome Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Univerese series.

 

 

Leave a Reply

