#1 · Gwenpool · One-Shot

Gwenpool Holiday Special: Merry Mix-UP #1

385863_20161214181117_large

As I’ve said, I’m a bit of a sucker for weird one-shots. Holiday-themed ones tend to especially tug at the ol’ heartstrings. And so I went ahead and grabbed  this Gwenpool special, not really knowing all that much about the Gwenpool character to begin with. I mean I know she was kind of made as a joke but fans liked her enough that she became a permanent fixture at Marvel. But that was about it.

For the most part, I didn’t love this issue. Don’t get me wrong – it was generous with its length and four stories, but I found it overly silly for my own taste. I think I prefer stuff like the Batman Annual that came out recently which had stories that took place in or around the holidays, but still felt like stories that could have been in any issue of Batman. But a lot of this stuff felt pretty throw-away to me – like the Spider-Man story with Galactus and the Gwenpool two-parter with all the holidays being  messed up.

Actually I think my favorite story here was the (tacked-on) Deadpool HALLOWEEN-themed one where Deadpool goes to a Halloween party and sees that there’s a Deadpool costume contest. There’s some good gags here like his lamenting that a hit movie means everyone wants to be you for Halloween, or the little girl dressed like Eleven from Stranger Things.

Ultimately there were some funny moments, but a lot of it I had to force myself to continue reading through.

Leave a Reply

