#1 · Justice League · Suicide Squad

Justice League Vs. Suicide Squad #1

386509_20161221202316_large

It’s interesting that DC is launching this big cross-over event at the same time that Marvel is running Inhumans Vs. X-Men right now. Or maybe it’s not interesting? Maybe it’s obvious to do so? I don’t know.

But I figured #1 was worth a read. And mostly it was. The art is fantastic. And I really enjoyed the dark tone. I mean this thing is pretty violent. You’ve got Harley lamenting that she’s standing in someone’s brains.

Like most #1’s for big events, this is mostly a lot of set-up for what’s coming. (Of course I admit that I skipped the prelude issue which doubled as Suicide Squad #8). Basically this whole issue is action – which is good and bad. It wastes no time pitting the Justice League against the Suicide Squad.

What is maybe more intriguing is that we see a whole other group of bad guys (ones in even more lock-down than the SS was) being set free to I guess take on both teams? It’s a little unclear at the moment and I’m not fully sure how much I’ll like it, but this issue was decent enough that I’ll at least stick around for #2.

Leave a Reply

