Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #63

379611_20161012141248_large

I’ve always been a huge Ninja Turtles fan, but when I got back into comics about a year ago I realized that the main series was already pretty far along, and catching up felt daunting. So I had started reading a lot of the “other stuff” like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Universe or other spin-offs and older stuff. But a while ago I decided to just “jump in” even if it didn’t quite make sense to do so. I sort of landed on #61 randomly figuring that it’d be the first issue of the next TPB so… why not?

It turned out to be a really strange place to jump in actually. A lot had happened over the course of sixty issues. But the story was compelling enough even from there that I’ve continued on with the intention of eventually picking up collections of the earlier issues and filling things in later at a slower pace while still technically “keeping up” with what was going on currently.

Issue #63 was probably the best issue of the last few I’ve read. The inner turmoil among the Turtles and Splinter is starting to really get dynamic and make me wonder what’s really going on and how I should be feeling about it all. And now we’re seeing The Foot transform their look into something really awesome that I don’t want to spoil.

I know I’m kind of an idiot for not being patient enough to read this series from the beginning, especially considering that it’s one of my favorite franchises of all time. But at the same time, I feel justified because this seems to be such a quality series no matter where you start.

Leave a Reply

