One-Shot · Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Deviations

358788_20160330074058_large

Deviations was a five-week event for IDW earlier in 2016 where various comics released one-shots that told What If stories outside of the main series. In the Turtles’ issue we have a grim reality. First of all, Shredder has killed Casey Jones. And second, the Turtles have been brainwashed and are now members of The Foot. Their mission: to kill Splinter.

What immediately struck me was just how overly violent this one was. Not that I’m against that. And really, as a fan of the Turtles going back to the early Mirage issues, I have always preferred a darker tone for them anyway. But damn, it’s brutal to see Splinter being so beat up.

The real What If here is simply what would happen if the Turtles weren’t there to protect the city. I won’t ruin anything, but the ending is a surprise but also isn’t. For a one-shot, I thought it was pretty decent. Though I must admit I didn’t love the art. A little too busy for my taste.

Leave a Reply

