#1 · G.I. Joe

G.I. Joe #1

387520_20161229183551_large

I don’t know what’s gotten into me, but I’ve been really fascinated by this IDW Hasbro-verse stuff. I know I’ve only read two-fifths of the main Revolution story, so I probably shouldn’t be reading a  post-Revolution book already but I just couldn’t resist this new G.I. Joe series when I saw that #1 on it.

I loved G.I. Joe as a kid. Basically until Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles came out and I had a new obsession anyway. Considering the main series has been running in SOME way for on-and-off for like thirty years, it seemed a lot easier for me to jump on to this new series as part of IDW’s “Reconstruction” initiative which is basically a reboot of all of their series in this shared universe.

And I had a good time with this book. I sometimes felt the slightly anime-inspired art to be a little bit weird, but all in all I thought it looked pretty nice. I don’t fully understand everything happening (again, since I haven’t finished Revolution), but it seems like a nice start to a new series. Surprisingly, I think I’m gonna dig this one.

Leave a Reply

