#1 · The Defenders

The Defenders #1

503250-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Holy shit. This is great. I’ve been anticipating this new Defenders series since it was announced some months ago. And now that the way it is over, I know that I was right to be excited. I suspect that some who are lesser fans of Bendis may have had their doubts. But no. This is just great.

The first issue is a total “Defenders Assemble” affair. But I love – LOVE – how they’ve made sure to show the history in these pages. Seeing flashback pics of The New Avengers or Jessica in her Jewel costume… it’s giving me all the right feels.

Everything is top notch here. The writing – this is Bendis bringing his A game. The art! Oh the art. Finally I feel like this is where I want to be reading Jessica Jones again. I’m sorry, but her current solo series was not working for me. I found the writing aimless and the art off-putting. But here? This feels to me like a proper continuation from Alias, The New Avengers, Pulse…

Speaking of Pulse – the issue ends with a multi-page interview  of Luke Cage taken from the pages of Pulse and penned by Ben Urich himself.  There is just so much heart shown here. You can truly sense how much the parties involved in this issue are genuinely excited to be creating it – and the reader benefits.

I can’t wait to see what goes on. Bendis has already promised The Punisher for issue #3. This is totally one of my new favorite comics.

Leave a Reply

