The Avengers

The Avengers #7

401190_20170511080207_large

I’m very mixed on this issue. It’s no secret that I’ve been a huge fan of the current Avengers series. And I’ve also been a fan of Infamous Iron Man, so I thought this crossover would be great. The problem isn’t so much the crossover, but the change in direction.

For one thing we’ve got a new artist now. I find Phil Noto’s art fine on its own, but the coloring is so muddy and washed out. It’s really unappealing to me. The tone of the story has changed a lot as well. I’m not saying it’s for the worst, but it’s jarring. All the sudden it feels… off. It’s great to see Nadia get so much to say, but the fact that we’ve got the whole second half of the book taking place at a summer camp and The Avengers dealing with demonic girls – I just don’t know.

At the very very end we get a hint that this story will (again) be overlapping with the stuff that Waid wrote in the throwback series Avengers: Four (those were the .1 issues). So that’s kind of cool. We’ll see where this goes.

Leave a Reply

