Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Universe #9

399007_20170426130521_large

I… hated this issue. I hated the art. I hated the story – or mostly lack of one. I hated that it felt weird for the sake of being weird. And I mean, I really hated the art. It has such a weird feel to it. Like a kids’ book, only a disturbing one.

I really don’t mean to be so negative. I love the Ninja Turtles. And I started out loving Universe. I’ve loved some issues. But I’m starting to think that I can’t deal with the unfocused nature of this series. You’ll get a good short story arc, and then a bunch of random issues that just feel so random.

This one is a good example of that. Where are the Turtles? This is Alopex and Angel and they’re just chit-chatting and meandering in the woods and then get “eaten” by a giant toad and then it’s like a big fever dream party that… ugh. I just don’t know. I think I’m all set with Universe for a while. The story in the main series has been so solid lately. I think I’m just much happier with that.

Leave a Reply

